Donor Spotlight

Donor Spotlight

Jo Ellen Diehl Yeary | Generosity rooted in pride, remembrance, dedication to home

Learn more

News & Happenings

2007 Wayne F. White Scholarships Awarded

The $500 Wayne F. White Scholarships were recently awarded to eight high school graduates through the Nelsonville-based Foundation for Appalachian Ohio.

“I was excited to receive (the Wayne F. White Scholarship) because it is going to help me a lot in the future,” said Caitlin Heiss, 17, of Beverly, Ohio. “I am looking forward to getting involved in campus activities and in my program of study.”

In the fall, the Washington County native will attend Bluffton University in Bluffton, Ohio, to study dietetics, as well as food and nutrition.

Mr. and Mrs. Robert L. (Jewell) Evans made the initial gift of $25,000 to establish this memorial scholarship in order to honor Wayne F. White. Bob Evans, the nationally-recognized restaurateur and philanthropist, was a long-time friend of White and an early supporter of Ohio Appalachian Center for Higher Education (OACHE) – a consortium of public colleges and universities within Appalachia that works to make higher education accessible.

Staci Armbrust, 18, of Philo, Ohio also was awarded the scholarship. She will attend Shawnee State University in Portsmouth, Ohio, to study respiratory therapy and health management.

“I was shocked when I found out I received the scholarship,” said Armbrust. “I am really excited to be able to start my future, meet new people, become more independent and learn about my area of study.”

The scholarship was created to honor Wayne F. White’s memory and legacy by his friends, family and countless others who took joy in his life and accomplishments. During his lifetime, he was universally loved and respected as a homegrown, nationally recognized champion and friend of higher education throughout Appalachian Ohio and beyond.

White was dedicated to helping others. A respected educator for more than four decades, White worked to change the landscape of education in Appalachian Ohio, fighting for equal funding for rural schools and encouraging young people and adults to pursue higher education.

The other Wayne White scholarship recipients were: Ashley Tyree and Michael Milton of Lawrence County; Kasee Merritt of Ross County; Teri Day and Devan VanWey of Muskingum County; and Hunter Lemley of Washington County.

Learn more about the Wayne F. White Scholarship Fund and our 2007 recipients.