Donor Spotlight

Donor Spotlight

Jo Ellen Diehl Yeary | Generosity rooted in pride, remembrance, dedication to home

Learn more

News & Happenings

FAO scholarship deadline approaching

The Foundation for Appalachian Ohio currently has scholarships available for next academic year.  “Scholarships are an integral part of FAO’s mission to foster access to opportunity in education for Appalachian Ohio students,” stated Cara Dingus Brook, President/CEO of the foundation.  “We encourage residents of this region to apply for the scholarships to assist in furthering their education.”

The Foundation for Appalachian Ohio recognizes the educational achievement of scholars and encourages post secondary educational pursuits. Scholarship funds at the Foundation are a legacy of individuals, families, and businesses that enrich quality of life and strengthen economic opportunities of the Appalachian region. The Foundation currently has 15 endowed scholarship funds increasing access to education for students of our region and in 2007 alone, awarded over $15,000 in scholarship funds.  While honoring a legacy by establishing a scholarship at FAO is an important way for area residents to contribute to this region, the foundation also has other ways to promote the value of education, such as supporting: the mini-grant program, the “I’m a Child of Appalachia®” campaign through joining the ICAN! Network, or the annual essay contest for elementary and middle school youth.     

Scholarships include:  Ariana R. Ulloa Scholarship, Forrest Bachtel Scholarship for Academic Excellence Award, Forrest Bachtel Scholarship for Athletic Excellence Award, Jenny Cornelius-Woltz Memorial Scholarship, Ora E. Anderson Scholarship, Wayne F. White Scholarship, and Bellisio Foods Scholarship.  Some scholarships are specific school or county-based, while others apply to any resident in the Appalachian Ohio region.  For specific criteria regarding the scholarships, please review scholarship application materials which are available at  Applications must be postmarked on or before March 1, 2008.